Puget Sound LYS Tour Saturday

Saturday dawned bright and early, as it is wont to do in the Pacific Northwest. I, however, did not rise with the sun, but instead slept in, and didn’t get rolling until after noon. It was a good thing that I only planned to visit three shops Saturday, because I really needed that break. Here was my plan for the day:

The distance was about the same as the previous day, but with only three stops the pace felt much more doable. I got a bit of an earlier start than originally planned, however, because the border lineup was reported to be an hour and a half. When I got to the border, though, it turned out the wait was only 20 minutes. Yay! More time for yarn! Less time sitting in my car going nowhere! I was pleased.

I drove around a bunch of water and then out onto Fidalgo Island (which I’m not convinced is an Island, but who am I to argue?), around Fidalgo Bay, and up to Anacortes. So much water! And sun! Very pretty drive. Again, I was pleased. I did not take many pictures of the scenery, because I felt it would be irresponsible to take photos while driving, but imagine a really pretty view of water with sunshine. It was like that.

Ana-Cross Stitch (Anacortes):

I loved the needlepoint here. There were some absolutely gorgeous pieces that looked like watercolor sunsets in the Pacific Northwest. Folks were friendly, and I liked the combination of yarn and cross-stitch materials. Their pattern was for “Anabeth’s Majestic Rockin’ Donetello” knit in Pollyanna. The sample was cute, and I liked the beading on it. Overall, a very nice shop.

Cross stitch supplies

I like the wall display here

Watercolor cross stitch

Next up was Coupeville Yarn, which I will talk about, but first I need to talk about Deception Pass. I don’t think I’d ever seen Deception Pass before, and if I had I certainly didn’t remember it. The view was absolutely breathtaking. I didn’t stop for pictures, but a quick Google Image Search will give you a pretty good idea.

Here’s one image, just to give you the idea. Stolen from http://www.anacorteskayaktours.com/explore-anacortes/deception-pass.php

Jaw-droppingly beautiful. And then onward to more yarn!

Coupeville Yarn (Coupeville):

This was my 14th shop! Meaning I got a second stitch marker, and that I was 2/3 through the tour. I really liked the pattern for a tweed stitch bag in Cascade Yarns Covington, and was sorely tempted to buy the yarn for the project. I kept to my strict budget and didn’t, though. Maybe next time!

Inside the shop

Knitty Purls (Langley):

After more driving in the sunshine with gorgeous scenery all around me, I got to Knitty Purls somewhere between 5 and 5:30 PM. The town is super cute, and the yarn store matches. The woman there was very friendly, and we chatted a bit. They dyed their own yarn for the tour, which I think is really cool. The colorway and pattern were both called Rhododendron, which is Washington’s state flower. The pattern and yarn worked well together to evoke the image of a rhododendron. I also go to see the Mountain Colors interpretation of last year’s yarn, which was also locally inspired (I’m forgetting the name now.)

 

 

 

Rhododendron sock and yarn

Just some of their yarn offerings

Last year’s sock pattern and yarn (as interpreted by Mountain Colors)

 

Completely exhausted, I made it to the ferry in Clinton and was in Mukilteo by 6:30 PM. Filled up my gas tank, went home, started writing about my adventures, and slept until the start of Sunday’s touring. Which will be yet another blog post, so keep an eye out for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

