Puget Sound LYS Tour 2012 Friday Part One

My plan for Friday was as follows: take care of errands I needed to until 1:30 PM, then drive north and hit as many shops as I could before sleeping at a friend’s in Vancouver. I figured that this way I could spend Saturday coming back down via Anacortes and Whidbey Island. Here is the planned route of shops for Friday:

A few notes about this plan:

1. It involved getting to 8 yarn shops ‘and covering over 150 miles in 6.5 hours max

2. The map to the left there? Yeah, I had to splice several screenshots of google maps together to get that. It was too long for my screen to get in any kind of decent resolution.

3. I’m pretty sure I’m completely insane for deciding this was a good idea. So without further ado, here is the run-down on how Friday went (conveniently organized by yarn shop) I was driving by myself, so I didn’t have a ton of time to take notes, but I did try to jot down a couple things about each, and I took pictures all along the way (see, I learned since Thursday’s dash!)

4. This is way too much for me to post all in one go, especially since I visited another 6 shops this morning. So I will type up the first four shops I visited as one post, and then post the other four later. When I feel less like I’ve been hit by a truck.

Main Street Yarns (Mill Creek): This shop felt very open which I liked, and there was a large table set up for folks to sit at. They had a number of gorgeous samples that were really inspiring. Their pattern was a pretty cabled cape made in Joseph Galler Heather Prime Alpaca. Here’s a picture of some inspiring color-work.

Gorgeous colorwork

Great Yarns (Everett):

The wonderful thing about this shop was that it felt like a labyrinth of yarn. Which, really, if I’m going to be in a labyrinth, I want it to be made of yarn. There were several rooms (I think 5? Maybe more?) and each had its own distinct feel and was *jam packed* with yarn (but in an organized way, such that I did not go crazy.) So many beautiful things, I will definitely be back. I want to spend hours there. Their pattern was the “Simple Elegance Wrap” knit in Great Yarns Elegance.

Mmm… Noro…

One of many lovely corners

Pretty sure this is every color of Cascade ever

PinchKnitter Yarns (Stanwood):

This shop had a nice open feel, and a huge table to work at. I sat down and knit a couple rounds on some socks, until I realized I’d made a mistake several rows back. The owner of the shop took a look at it and offered me some ideas, which was so lovely. It was really great to take a little break and get a feel for the shop. Their pattern was for a bath mitt and washcloth, with the featured yarn being allhemp6. I bought myself a skein, since I’ve never worked with hemp before and have heard awesome things (I recently bought a copy of Amy Singer’s No Sheep for You.) I also got to feel a sample of it that had been washed a couple times and gets *so soft!* I’m excited to get to play with it. Also! This was my 7th store, which meant I got a cute little stitch marker commemorating the tour. I will post a picture with all my loot after all my yarn-store write-ups.

 

Unfortunately it’s blurry, but this picture gives a sense of the shop layout

I’ve always wanted to play with one of these (yarn that is dyed while knit flat and then you knit a sock from that.) It was cool to get to see one in person.

Wild Fibers (Mount Vernon):

There were a couple of yarns here that I was completely smitten with. I had met Madeline Tosh Merino Light before, but I don’t think I’d ever really gotten to know it… they had a few samples out on the table and they were squishy and wonderful and just… mmm… So yes, I will be getting some of that at some point. The pattern they handed out, Daphne Beaded Wrap in Juniper Moon Farm Findley is charming, and I think I will be using some of my lace stash for it. Again, I was impressed by the gorgeous samples around the shop.

Really liked this yarn, may need to pick some up

Here are the Tosh merino light samples I was talking about. And a book with a hat model that a fellow tourist said looks like me. She has a nice hat, I will take it as a compliment.

I really am a sucker for Noro’s colorways

A shot of the general shop layout (or part of it. The store was fairly large.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

