Rainbow Cake

I made this cake for my birthday last year, and then again a couple weeks ago. It is still delicious!

So, I made the cake, then took the layers and froze them, put them together using the whiskey ganache, and froze them again so I could ice the cake. I *finally* bought myself a pastry bag and some tips so I could make pretty frosting. I’m not great with it yet, but the cake turned out okay anyway 🙂

Decorated rainbow cake

Yay! It's all tie-dye rainbow-y!

I used these proportions:

Cake
  • 1 + 1/3  cups  guiness
  • 1 + 1/3 cups butter
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 + 2/3 cups flour
  • 2 + 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 7/8 cups sour cream (okay, really I just got one of those little yogurt-serving-size-containers and used all of it.)

Ganache Filling (for between cake layers, there is some left over… having strawberries on hand to dip in it is awesome.)

  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons Irish whiskey (optional)

Baileys Frosting (I actually doubled this for this cake, you’ll see why…)

  • 3 to 4 cups confections sugar
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup or 4 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperatue
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons Baileys (or milk, or heavy cream, or a combination thereof)
Cake is ready to go

I love the wiggly candles!

Here is the impromptu cake-platter-cover I made! Using only microwave-food-boxes, duct tape, aluminum foil, saran wrap, and packing tape. Clearly at some point I need a real cake platter, but this worked pretty well!
Cake platter with cake!

Here is the impromptu cake platter with a cake in it!

Cake platter cover
Side view
And since then, I have switched to eating vegan and raw food, and I just did 5 days of a juice (fruits and veggies yay!) So I’ll be easing off the baked goods, but I’ll probably post some pictures of the juices I’m making and the recipes. I’m also still working on finishing up a couple knitting projects to post.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

